Homemade for the Holidays

A few years ago, my sister began making homemade gifts for me for Christmas. Among my favorites was a scrapbooked shadow box with photos of our activities that summer, and sisterly sayings neatly arranged inside. It’s one of my favorite things, and I now look forward to receiving something homemade from her every year. Though I’ve received really fun (and more expensive) things for Christmas in the past few years (Uggs, the camera that took all the photos below, etc), I believe the best gift of all is something personal, made by the hands of someone you love.

This year, my sister FINALLY made me one of her prize-winning quilts (well they haven’t actually won any prizes… YET)

Tabbie’s quilt – front
Tabbie's quilt - close up
Close up

My brother-in-law made me a Chargers themed, monogrammed ceramic coaster:

Forrest’s xmas tile

In past years, I’ve received a one-of-a-kind Christmas pumpkin:

Christmas pumpkin 2010

How do you feel about making homemade gifts for loved ones for the holidays? Would you rather wrap a gift card, or make something more meaningful? Tell me what kinds of handmade things you’ve received!

4 thoughts on “Homemade for the Holidays

  1. I love the quilt. I agree, what is most amazing about home made gifts is that they take time to make- not just some piece of junk made in China toy. I think anyone can make one with a little thought and some time. Merry Christmas and a happy New Year. Love the blog…

  2. I agree! The best homemade Christmas gift I ever gave was a wall sized photo collage of over 300 photos of my family!! I adhered all the photos to a 30″ x 40″ poster board then had it framed. They were amazed!! It is now the focal point of their entryway in their home. 🙂

    • I love that! Family photos are underrated; they inevitably add to the comfortable feeling of being at home. They don’t have to be arranged like the ones your parents and grandparents put up; you can put your own young, modern twist on the arrangement!

Leave a Reply

