//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The Mascara Diaries.

My sister Tabbie and I have been on an endless quest for the perfect mascara. If you’re anything like us, you’re on a merry-go-round of mascaras you use in rotation. We’ve been wearing Diorshow Blackout for the last couple of years, thanks to their amazing formula that’s super dramatic – thickening, but also lengthening, giving you a false eyelash effect (provided you put on the appropriate number of coats). But hold the phone – I found something better.

Image

MAC Haute & Naughty Lash - so naughty

Fast forward to MAC Haute and Naughty Lash. This mascara isn’t one mascara doing double duty – it’s two mascaras in one tube. Literally. Two brushes. In one tube. The first brush thickens, while the second lengthens. Amazing.

Image

Sparkly wand = Thickening brush

Image

Pink wand = lengthening brush

Ladies and gentleman who wear mascara, do yourself a favor and go out and purchase this mascara. Swear to god it will change your life. And it’s half the price of Diorshow (sorry, Dior – I love you, but we’re still in a recession).

And if you have a mascara you think is better, I welcome you to challenge me. Bring it on, and I’ll post the results here.

Love,

Phoebe

About phoebemaria

Wine lover. Adventure seeker. Creator. Travel enthusiast.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “The Mascara Diaries.

  1. I would be interested in trying Mac Haute & Naughty Lash, if only to compare it with the mascara I’ve lately fallen in love with. It’s new: http://www.beautyhigh.com/product-guideproduct-obsession-ultraflesh-panthera-mascara/

    ULTRAFLESH PANTHERA

    I have zero tolerance for clumping! And with my high standards, this makes the grade. I hold it second to Clinique’s Lash Power.

    http://www.clinique.com/product/1606/5320/Makeup/Mascara/Lash-Power-Mascara/index.tmpl

    LASH POWER really does last through sweat and tears. I’d wear it to a funeral. IT IS TOTALLY UNIQUE IN THE WAY IT WASHES OFF. It is temperature-sensitive, and instead of a whole bunch of oily stuff, it comes off with WARM WATER. I have a technique where I use a cotton round and hold the lashes between my fingers wet with hot water for a second, then it falls right off. BUT WON’T SMUDGE OR BUDGE ALL DAY — even through fights with boyfriends or sad movies. It’s kind of a miracle. And so gentle. But you won’t get the big volume of other mascaras.

    I wear Ultraflesh Panthera unless, for some reason, I know I’ve got a good cry coming my way.

    Posted by MommyTheorist | March 14, 2012, 1:52 am
  2. Hey Phoeb, Interesting blog .. I never tried or even knew about this mascara but would like to try it! .. 🙂

    Posted by Beverly | March 15, 2012, 4:11 pm
  3. Headed to the Mac counter right now!!! I’ll def let you know my own personal opinion, and hopefully Mac has the solution to my puny lash challenge… thx!! xoxo

    Posted by beckyoinla | March 18, 2012, 6:23 pm

Leave a Reply

